Loading...
Home2022-11-07T07:46:35-05:00

Please join us

Ponniyin Selvan and Ponniyin Pudalvar
Kalki and his Chola Epic

WORD BECOMES VISUAL

This unique episode of the Kalki Biography Project sessions features special recorded appearances by Mani Ratnam, Karthi, and Kumaravel to discuss Kalki’s magnum opus Ponniyin Selvan, now transposed to the big screen.

MANI RATNAM, film maker
talks about his fascination for Ponniyin Selvan

KARTHI, film actor
shares his experience in playing Kalki’s character Vandiyathevan

ELANGO KUMARAVEL, scriptwriter
speaks of Kalki’s storytelling skills

SRIRANJANI SANTHANAGOPALAN, Carnatic vocalist
sings Poonkuzhali’s song from Ponniyin Selvan.

GOWRI RAMNARAYAN, translator, Kalki’s biography
discusses the impulses and inspirations propelling Kalki’s journey into history

Date: November 19, 2022
Time: 8:00 PM IST
(9:30 AM EST  | 6:30 AM PST |
2:30 PM GMT)

zoom

Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 811 4615 7361
Passcode: 392015

The Project

Pandemic has now become a household word. The youngest children and the oldest adults in nearly every family casually use it in conversation. Just a few months ago it was an unfamiliar word associated mainly with science fiction. Few of us who are alive today had lived through an earlier pandemic.

read more
Sunda

‘Sunda’ MRM Sundaram

The Author

“Sunda”, MRM Sundaram (1913-1995), began his career as a munsiff in his native village of Melanattham, Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu, on a monthly salary of Rs 13. Young Sunda’s inborn love of language and literature was nourished by the literary meetings he attended in the home of Tamil scholar and connoisseur
TK Chidambaranatha Mudaliar.

read more
Gowri Ramnarayan

Dr Gowri Ramnarayan

The Translator

Play wrighter, theatre director, journalist (formerly Deputy Editor, The Hindu, now freelance writer and translator), Dr Gowri Ramnarayan’s work is a rare amalgam of aesthetics and scholarship. As a musician, she was vocal accompanist to legendary musician MS Subbulakshmi for 16 years. As inhouse playwright and Artistic Director,…

read more
translator

Ponniyin Pudalvar

KALKI R KRISHNAMURTHY: A PROFILE

Kalki R Krishnamurthy (1899-1954) was an iconic writer, and a pioneer of modern Tamil literature and journalism. His induction into journalism was facilitated by his involvement with the freedom struggle. Beginning his career in the scholarly journal Navasakti and the anti-liquor manifesto Vimochanam, he served as Editor, Ananda Vikatan, before launching Kalki…

read more

Bookends

DONATE

We are looking for a small number of donations to help us with this project. We will gratefully accept donations in any amount.

DONATE

ORDER YOUR COPY NOW!

Order Now
Go to Top